EML (ElectroComp) 500 keyboard issues

Hi! New user here. I’m a novice at this; my wife and I are taking apart an old EML 500 synth and trying to get it working. Seems to mostly be okay at this point (cleaned/lubed the pots and faders and I think they’re okay). We’re having some trouble with the keys not working quite right. When I depress a key, it plays the right tone, but when I release it, it tends to momentarily play the wrong tone and then stops. We tried cleaning up the busbar a bit but we’re wondering if there’s anything else we should be doing, and what else the problems could be from besides just wear and tear and corrosion. Since it’s not just one or two keys, I don’t think the problem is any one of the actual resistors, and they look pretty clean and good. Also, is the keyboard something that could/should just be replaced? It looks like the keyboard is only attached via a few wires and a few screws, and it’s very similar to other EML keyboards and possibly other keyboards of the era. I’m wondering if it would be easier to just swap it out for a known good set of keys. We’re willing to take it all apart and clean it really well if that’s likely to the be the problem, but I’m a bit suspicious and would like to know more before we take this too far.

Apologies if I’m using incorrect terminology or not providing enough information. We’re new at this and learning as we go. Thanks!

Welcome to the forum!

I’m not particularly familiar with these but I imagine it’s a similar keybed to other stuff from the era. I recently worked on an Arp Odyssey that had a similar problem. Cleaning the bus bar with a q-tip and isopropyl alcohol and correcting a few bent j-wires solved all of the problems. If this is a keybed with j-wires, make sure none of them are defaulting to touching the bus bar without a key press.