SQ-80 display only works when I press the top panel

Howdy,

I am a total newb when it comes to repairs, so please bear with me. I have an SQ-80 that works brilliantly but it does have one minor issue. The display only works intermittently. Most of the time, I have to press the front panel of the synth down to get it to light up. When I do this, I can see everything so I don’t think the problem is with the display itself, but with some sort of connector. As I said, I’m new at this, so if anyone has any idea as to what I should be checking for I’d appreciate the help. I have no problem taking the panel off and looking inside; I just don’t know what I’m looking at.

Cheers!

It looks like the display is vacuum fluorescent. This type of intermittent failure usually means a component such as a resistor supplying power is faulty from dry solder joint, or over overheating. Many displays of this type used undersized resistors, so they would eventually overheat. Most likely its both.

You should take the unit in for servicing as this failure can overheat the display through internal intermittent arcing causing leaking of the vacuum seal. Typically these displays cannot be replaced as each one is custom built for their intended purpose, and spares are only available when another unit dies.

1 Like